PhD Scholars

Poornachandratejasvi Laxman Bhatta

MTech: Vellore Institute of Technology, Vellore

Research Interests: Coordination and control of smart grids, smart grid security and vulnerability assessment, co-simulation platform for smart grid.

Sachinkumar B Suthar

MTech: Indian Institute of Technology Gandhinagar

Research Interests: Peer-to-peer energy trading, Blockchain technology, Impacts of EV on grid, Microgrid Control, Applications of power electronics.​

Abhishek Tiwari

MTech: Maulana Azad National Institute of Technology, Bhopal

Research Interests: Auto Demand response, Modelling and control of AC, Battery energy storage system and Lighting system, smart grid technology.

Souvik Bera

MTech: Birla Institute of Technology, Mesra

Research Interests: Demand Side Management, Microgrid Operation and Control, Application of ANN and Reinforcement Learning Algorithms in Microgrids.

Divya Sharma

MTech: Malviya National Institute of Technology, Jaipur

Research Interests: Grid integration of RES, Electricity Markets, Energy Management, Blockchain Technology, and Multi-Agent Systems.​


PhD Students

Dr. Rishabh Abhinav

(Senior Power Systems Consultant
PSE2 Consulting, Bristol, UK)

Thesis – Grid-Integration of Large-Scale Wind Power Generation with Battery Energy Storage System, April 2021

Dr. P. Bala Sai Kiran

(Software Engineering Specialist at GE Digital, Hydrabad)

Thesis – Development of Energy Management Frameworks for DER Integration in Distribution Networks, February 2021

Dr. Batchu Rajasekhar

(Digital Solution Applications (DSA) Power System and Controls Modeler at GE, Hydrabad)

Thesis – Distributed Demand Response in Smart Grid: A Game-Theoretic and Machine Learning Approach, June 2020

Dr. Kalpesh A. Joshi

(Power Systems Engineer, Powertech Labs Inc, British Columbia, Canada

Thesis – Analysis and Optimization of Distribution Networks with PV Generation and Battery Energy Storage System, Dec 2016

MTech Students

Jainendra Jain

(Joined CDAC)

Thesis – Blockchain-based Network Aware Peer-to-Peer Energy Trading Framework, 2021

Devesh Kumar

(Joined TCS)

Thesis – Energy Management Platform for Cooling System: Case Studies, 2021

Satish Kumar Singh

(Joined Enphase Energy)

Thesis- Energy Management Framework in Active Distribution Network, 2021

Priyanka Sharma

(Joined Marvell Semiconductor)

Thesis- Multiobjective Optimization based
Automated Demand Response
Model in Smart Distribution Grid, 2021

Anandsingh Chauhan
(Joined TCS as a System Engineer)

Thesis – Peer to Peer Energy Trading Platform: Hardware and Software Integration, 2020 [Received the POSOCO Power System Award-2021]

Sachinkumar B Suthar
(pursuing PhD at IIT Gandhinagar)

Thesis – Optimal Operation of Grid-Tied Solar PV and Battery Energy Storage System: A Case Study, 2019

Payal V Dahiwale
(pursuing PhD at IIT Bombay)

Thesis- Fault Management Scheme for DC Microgrid, 2019

Vishal Kushwaha

(pursuing PhD at IISc Bangalore)

Thesis- Comparative Study of Forecast Models for Very Short-Term Solar Photovoltaic Power Generation Forecasting, 2018

Biswajeet Rout

(pursuing PhD at Kansas State University, USA)

Thesis- Analysis of Distribution Network with Solar PV and Electric Vehicle Integration, 2018

Shweta Dahale

(pursuing PhD at Kansas State University, USA)

Thesis- Adaptive Droop Control Strategy using Fuzzy Logic in DC Microgrid, 2018

Dhanapala Prudhviraj

(pursuing PhD at Kansas State University, USA)

Thesis- Energy Management of AC Microgrid: Deterministic and Stochastic Framework, 2018

Balveer Singh
(with Banas Dairy, Gujarat)

Thesis- Impact assessment of distributed solar PV integration in Low voltage unbalanced distribution network: A case study, 2018

G. Rakesh
(Scientific Officer – C at Kudankulam Nuclear power project, NPCIL, India)

Thesis- Simulation and experimental study of bidirectional AC-DC converter for hybrid microgrid application, 2016

Puchalapalli Sambasivaiah
(pursuing PhD at IIT Delhi)

Thesis- Harmonics assessment of domestic and commercial loads and evaluation of control techniques for shunt active power filter, 2016
[Received the Director’s Gold Medal in MTech Electrical Engineering (2016).

Arun Nair
(project engineer at Al Mostajed Technologies Co. LLC, UAE)

Thesis- Demand Response Algorithm Incorporating Electricity Market Prices for Residential Energy Management, 2014

Rohith Varier
(Senior Executive Engineer at Siemens, Mumbai)

Thesis- A Novel Active Anti-Islanding Protection Scheme for Grid-Interactive Roof-Top Solar PV Systems, 2014

Sreejith R.

(Joined Hitachi-ABB Power Grid)

Thesis- Finite Control Set MPC based Distribution Static Synchronous Compensator (DSTATCOM) for Load Compensation, 2014

Rahul Anand Kaushik
(Engineer, Asset Management at Powergrid Corporation of India Ltd (PGCIL), India)

Thesis- Power Flow Management in Hybrid AC-DC Microgrid using Master-Slave Control Technique, 2014

Gaurav Kumar
(Assistant Electrical Engineer, North Bihar power distribution company)

Thesis – Outage Management System for Power Distribution System, 2014

Sherry Jain
Thesis – Least Distance Predictor Model for Short Term Load Forecasting, 2014

BTech Students

Aparna Tumkur
2019 (Pursuing MS at Stanford University, USA)
Tejas Mehta
2019 (Pursuing MS at Carnegie Mellon University, USA)